What women can learn from men:

image

Cliche alert(s)! It seems like just yesterday, but the truth is, it’s been 29 years I became a mother- the longest time I’ve had any job. Sure, the job and work environment has changed: we’ve expanded, downsized, right sized, changed our product offering, franchised and ultimately, I’ve let the rest of the world take on the job of raising him. He’s his own COO and CEO although I sometimes help out a little in the CFO area.

This career- and it’s far more than a job– had taught me a lot. Not just about how to be a mother, but how to be a more complete human being. You see, one of the things I’ve learned is that — in many ways– there’s a lot women can learn from men.

Stereotype warning! I’m focussing on some of the male/female stereotypes here. I know that men and women and all the rainbow in between are nuanced and complex beings. I’ve been called a girly-girl, yet I love football and stick shifts; I gave my son dolls to play with when he was little. He turned into a great mix of football player, athlete, cross- trainer, theatre lover and good cook. Gosh, sort of like his ma, with the percentages reversed. I am so proud! (Brilliant statement of the obvious.)

What women can learn from men is that sometimes all the talk in the world, is sorry ladies, just talk. And for all the rough edges and “he doesn’t talk to me” criticism and advertising roles, men understand what really matters.
Take a look at football. If you screw up: as a certain Bomber player with the last name initials FG will attest, you fix it- no talking necessary. When someone does well, you celebrate; when they don’t you give them a “You’ll do better next time” thump. It’s all so simple. But I know that I…and many other women… make it a lot more complicated than it need be.

I’m delighted that football clubs like the Blue and Gold are doing more to bring women into the bleachers. It’s not just good for the club; it’s good for the women. And I’d like to salute football players everywhere for the amazing work they are doing in the community. From raising awareness about domestic violence (Not sure if this is in the NFL- the recent Rice and other NFL decisions casts a doubt) to working with kids who are disadvantaged to developing positive outlooks, strength and focus with programs like Football First, male athletes and men in general are demonstrating that action does speak louder than words.

Leave a Reply

