You know that annoying habit mothers have…

Of relating stories about people you don’t know, never knew, may (probably) never care to know?  I’ve started it.  You know.  Passing on the tradition.  And I’m telling stories about people who have died.  You know what I mean.

Mother:  You know oldwhat’shername.  (Not a question.)

Adult child:  No.

Mother:  Yeah, remember I told you about oldwhat’shername last year.

Adult child:  No.

Mother:  Sure.  I told you that…blah, blah, blah.

Adult child:  No.

Mother:  Well, she passed away.

Adult child.  Oh.

Mother:  Blah.  Blah. Blah.

Adult child:  I didn’t know her mom.

Mother:  Oh.  I told you about her last year.  Remember, she’s the blah, blah, blah…

I’m so sorry.  I don’t know why of all the mothering traditions I could resurrect, I’ve chosen this one.  Next thing I know, I’ll be checking obit to see if there’s anyone I know.  Lord God.  Save me (and my son) now.

Leave a Reply

